Quinta Dos Roques

"Located between Mangualde and Nelas, in place of the Abrunhosa do Mato, the Quinta dos Roques is an example of the spirit with which the new Dão is built. Since the beginning of the Roques, there have been more a century, the vine and the wine are part of the daily life of this family, although for a long time the production did not satisfy more than the consumption needs of the house.

In the early 1990s, after choosing the best places with granite and, sometimes, shale soils, on gentle slopes facing south, the best traditional grape varieties in the region were planted using the most advanced techniques. A new cellar was then built, combining modern and traditional, science and technology.

Side by side, in perfect symbiosis, electronic presses appear alongside granite "lagares", stainless steel tanks with oak barrels, cold systems with underground cellars. And the very first wines produced immediately showed that everything was on the right track.

Currently, the Quinta dos Roques has 40 hectares of modern vines, which stand out from the rest by the rationality of the conduction systems and the quality of the grapes produced.

Wine production, which tends to increase, is around 150,000 liters, of which 10,000 liters are natural sparkling wines. The wines are marketed under the name "Quinta dos Roques and Quinta do Correio".

© The Sol Ar 2019

Quinta Dos Roques

"Située entre Mangualde et Nelas, à la place de l'Abrunhosa do Mato, la Quinta dos Roques est bien l'exemple de l'esprit avec lequel le nouveau Dão est construit. Depuis le début des Roques, il y a plus d'un siècle, la vigne et le vin font partie de la vie quotidienne de cette famille, bien que pendant longtemps la production n'ait pas satisfait plus que les besoins de consommation de la maison.

Au début des années 1990, après avoir choisi les meilleurs endroits avec des sols granitiques et, parfois, schisteux, sur des pentes douces exposées au sud, les meilleurs cépages traditionnels de la région ont été plantés selon les techniques les plus avancées. Une nouvelle cave a alors été construite, alliant le moderne et le traditionnel, la science et la technologie.

Côte à côte, en parfaite symbiose, les pressoirs électroniques apparaissent aux côtés des "lagares" en granit, des cuves en acier inoxydable avec des fûts en chêne, des systèmes de froid avec des caves souterraines. Et les tout premiers vins produits ont immédiatement montré que tout était sur la bonne voie.

Actuellement, la Quinta dos Roques compte 40 hectares de vignes modernes, qui se distinguent des autres par la rationalité des systèmes de conduction et par la qualité des raisins produits.

La production de vin, qui a tendance à augmenter, est d'environ 150 000 litres, dont 10 000 litres sont des vins mousseux naturels. Les vins sont commercialisés sous la dénomination "Quinta dos Roques et Quinta do Correio".

© The Sol Ar 2019